2018 Yearbook

Nominate a Tennis Star from Your Community

Social Media

Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube

Atlantic Tire Championships

The Quest for Stars & Trophies

2017 State Championships

Submit Your Award Nominations Today

Tennis Weekend Recap

USTA North Carolina inducted two new members into the North Carolina Tennis Hall of Fame and honored 35 award recipients at the 2016 Tennis Weekend in Pinehurst.

The late Mary Lloyd Barbera and Mark Dillon comprised the newest Hall of Fame class.  Barbera, a Henderson native, but lived most of her adult life in Greensboro, was posthumously honored. Earlier this year, she unexpectedly passed away at the age of 49. Her legacy as a player and advocate of tennis in North Carolina made her one of the faces of the sport across the state. 

As a junior, Barbera held the No. 1 ranking in North Carolina in the Girls’ 12s, 14s, and 18s. She was a three-time state singles champion and three-time state doubles champion, and she captured the NCHSAA state singles title in 1981 and 1982.

After competing collegiately for Peace College and North Carolina State University, Barbera found her way back into the tennis world by joining the USTA North Carolina staff in 1999. Ultimately becoming the Director of Marketing for the organization, Barbera became a nationally respected name due to her passion and love for tennis.

Dillon, 55, a Charlotte native, was one of the state’s best junior players towards the end of the 1970s. He won the Boys 16s’ doubles state title in 1976 and the Boys 18s’ singles and doubles state titles in 1978. Dillon was also the NCHSAA singles champion as a senior.

Dillon attended North Carolina State University and aided the Wolfpack in winning the ACC Championship as a freshman in 1979. His illustrious collegiate career included two ACC singles championships, an ACC doubles championship, and NCAA All-American honors in 1981.

In the mid-1980s, Dillon served on the first board of the Charlotte Tennis Association, helping to grow tennis across the city and assisting with various tennis clinics for underprivileged youth. Today he serves on the USTA North Carolina Board of Directors, he’s the chair of the organization’s Investment Committee, and he plays an active role on and off the court with his three sons.

USTA North Carolina’s annual awards ceremony took place Saturday, January 23, 2016.  The 2015 award winners included players, coaches, tournaments and events from across the state.  The following individuals/organizations were selected as the 2015 winners.




Adult Player of the Year (Male)

Malik Daniel

Adult Player of the Year (Female)

Nanette Huff

Senior Player of the Year (Female)

Wendy McColskey

Senior Player of the Year (Male)

Bill Ashley

High School Player of the Year (Female)

Susanne Boyden

High School Player of the Year (Male)

Klein Evans

High School Coach of the Year

Michael Bowen

Junior Player of the Year (Female)

Abigail Forbes

Junior Player of the Year (Male)

Nick Stachowiak

Adult Sportsmanship Award (Female)

Nancy King

Adult Sportsmanship Award (Male)

Howard Jenkins

Adult/Senior/NTRP Tournament of the Year

Apple Open

Junior Tournament of the Year

NC Jr. Clay Court Championships

Charity Tennis Event of the Year

Power of Pink

Special Tennis Event of the Year

Stone Age Open

Team Tennis Program/Event of the Year

Junior Team Tennis State Championships

Junior Sportsmanship Award (Female 12s)

Alexandra Torre

Junior Sportsmanship Award (Female 14s)

Jenna Thompson

Junior Sportsmanship Award (Female 16s)

Maddie Weber

Junior Sportsmanship Award (Female 18s)

Hannah Archer

Junior Sportsmanship Award (Male 12s)

Braden Shick

Junior Sportsmanship Award (Male 14s)

Mark Dillon

Junior Sportsmanship Award (Male 16s)

Ryan Jurist

Junior Sportsmanship Award (Male 18s)

Kavir Kumar

Adult/Senior Tennis Council Award

Pattie Smith

Junior Tennis Council Award

Karen Holbrook

Family of the Year

The Coopers (Wilmington)

Media Excellence Award

Jay Spivey

Tennis Official of the Year

Lindsay Pratt

Tennis Professional of the Year

Lane Evans & Daniel Ebert

Peggy Golden Spirit Award

Mary Tatum

Facility of the Year

Apex Community Park

President's Award

Alex Rucker

Mary Milam Lifetime Achievement Award

John Bethune

USTA Southern State Volunteer Service Award

Anna Martin
2015 Award Winners

Congratulations to all our winners on their outstanding achievements on and off the court throughout the past year.

For past winners and more on USTA North Carolina’s awards visit www.nctennis.com/awards.